Ballon D’Or: Zola names player of choice for award

Former Chelsea striker, Gianfranco Zola, has backed Real Madrid ace, Eden Hazard to win this year’s Ballon D’ Or ahead of Barcelona’s Lionel Messi, Juventus’ Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk.


According to Zola, Hazard deserves the top individual prize after he helped Chelsea to win the UEFA Europa League trophy last season before he left Stamford Bridge for Madrid.

Hazard is among the 30-man shortlist for this year’s Ballon D’ Or alongside Messi, L Van Dijk, Ronaldo and others. Read it here.

“Hazard made an extraordinary season with us at Chelsea last year,” Zola told Italian publication Il Mattino.

“He deserves to win the Ballon D’ Or.”

The Ballon d’Or winner will be announced on Monday, December 2 in Paris.

Meanwhile, Hazard has already revealed who he feels should win this year’s Ballon D’ Or. Read it here.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: