Ballon d’Or nominees in FULL: Messi, Van Dijk lead list, Neymar out

FRANCE – France Football have announced the thirty nominees for the 2019 Ballon d’Or award.

The 30 nominees were announced in six sets, with five players in each of them. 

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Virgil van Dijk are the three favourites names in the list, with Neymar left out for the first time in a few years.

You can see all the nominees for the 2019 Ballon d’Or in the full list of contenders below:


Sadio Mane (Liverpool | Senegal)

Sergio Aguero (Man City | Argentina)

Frenkie de Jong (Ajax/Barcelona | Netherlands)

Hugo Lloris (Tottenham | France)

Dusan Tadic (Ajax | Serbia)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG | France)

Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool | England)

Donny van de Beek (Ajax | Netherlands)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal | Gabon)

Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Barcelona | Germany)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus | Portugal)

Alisson Becker (Liverpool | Brazil)

Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus | Netherlands)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid | France)

Georginio Wijnaldum (Liverpool | Netherlands)

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool | Netherlands)

Bernardo Silva (Man City | Portugal)

Heung-min Son (Tottenham | South Korea)

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich | Poland)

Roberto Firmino (Liverpool | Brazil)

Lionel Messi (Barcelona | Argentina)

Riyad Mahrez (Man City | Algeria)

Kevin de Bruyne (Man City | Belgium)

Kalidou Koulibaly (Napoli | Senegal)

Antonie Griezmann (Atletico/Barcelona | France)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool | Egypt)

Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Real Madrid | Belgium)

Marquinhos (PSG | Brazil)

Raheem Sterling (Man City | England)

Joao Felix (Atletico | Portugal)

The Ballon d’Or is considered the greatest personal accolade a player can achieve and this year’s awards ceremony will take place in Paris on December 2.

The award, which is independent of FIFA since 2016, takes into account the performances of a player for the calendar year rather than the previous season.

Real Madrid playmaker Luka Modric broke a decade-long duopoly between Messi and Ronaldo when he won the 2018 edition.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: